skip navigation

Thunder Pull Off Upset to Become FWL Champions

07/22/2019, 11:45am EDT
By Kyle Nuckols

The Results From the FWL Playoffs

In game one of the FWL playoffs on Saturday, the Leesburg Thunder hosted the Lake Mary Boom to decide who would take on the Sanford Monarchs in the championship later that day. A masterful pitching performance from Jake Blair (Santa Fe) led the Thunder to an easy victory. After a shaky first few batters, Blair was able to strand the bases loaded in the first and would cruise for the rest of the game. In the second inning, the Thunder were able to bring across a pair of runs with a bases loaded walk and an RBI groundout from Alexander Morales (Milligan). In the following inning, catcher Brice Mortillaro (Palm Beach State) slugged a two-run home run over the left field wall to give the Thunder a 4-0 lead, which was more than enough with the way Blair was pitching. Alexis Quevedo (Talledega) would score on a wild pitch in the bottom of the 6th for the Thunder to put the cherry on top and give them a cozy five-run cushion. Blair would go back out to the mound for the seventh inning, and would tally his eighth and ninth strikeout to close out the Boom and put an end to their season with a 5-0 final. Blair finished the day with a complete game shutout, fanning nine batters and only surrendering four hits and two walks. George Duran (Shawnee State) also put together a solid game at the plate, going 2-2 with a double, two runs, and a stolen base.


Then came the FWL championship, were the Thunder matched up against the top-seeded Sanford Monarchs to see who would be crowned champions. After a silent first inning, the Thunder put up a seven spot in the second, highlighted by a two RBI single from Kobie Leonard (Lake Sumter), along with a few RBI walks and some poor fielding on the part of the Monarchs. Josh Plasencia (Lake Sumter) was on the bump for the Thunder, and was in complete control, throwing four solid innings without allowing a run. George Duran (Shawnee State) would add another run for the Thunder in the 4th, scoring on a wild pitch and giving Leesburg an 8-0 lead. After a shutout fifth inning from Tyler Moran (Carson Newman), the Monarchs were finally able to chip away into the deficit, scoring two runs, one on a sacrifice fly from Zack Swift (Concordia) and the other on an RBI single from Jakob Wiirre (Florida A&M), bringing the score to 8-2 going into the last inning. After an RBI double from Cameron Rodriguez (Lake Sumter) in the top half of the inning, Jonathan Montes (Concord) was sent out to pitch the bottom of the seventh and bring the championship to the Thunder. After an error lead to one batter getting on base, Montes struck out the next two Sanford hitters to slam the door and complete the upset. The Thunder were led by great pitching on Saturday, and with some timely hits and defensive miscues from their opponents, the Leesburg Thunder became your 2019 FWL champions.

Tag(s): HOME